top of page
  • bkulaski

Welcome to the Montana Regional Hazard Mitigation Project

Updated: Sep 13, 2022

Hazard mitigation means actions taken to reduce or eliminate long-term risks to life and property from hazards such as floods, wildfires, tornadoes, and earthquakes. The State of Montana Disaster and Emergency Services (MT DES) is coordinating the creation of new Regional Hazard Mitigation Plans that will encompass all counties, municipalities, and tribal nations in Montana

This will support consistency across the state, lighten the administrative burden on local and tribal governments, be cost effective, and ensure comprehensive eligibility for FEMA mitigation grant funding. The Regional Plans will build off existing local hazard mitigation plans and be developed in accordance with the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000. Three regions (Central, Western, Eastern) have been established. Each will go through a phased planning process in 2022-2023, starting with the Central Region, followed by the Western and Eastern Regions. Refer to the map below for the jurisdictions within each region.

This site contains the latest information on this planning project, to include upcoming and past meetings, hazard information, planning documents, and how you can participate in the process.

37 views0 comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page